The Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs (ACMD) has advised a ban on alcohol brewers sponsoring cultural events such as music festivals and football games. Now this, in my opinion is just plain wrong. They believe that the abolition of alcohol advertising will dramatically cut down on the number of underage drinkers and alcohol related deaths... this is not the case. teenagers don't drink because some footballer has a drink brand written on his shirt, or because music festivals are supported by these brands. They drink because when you're young there is bugger all to do and nothing beats a good party.
These people no doubt consumed alcohol before the legal age, just like you and me, yet they insist on trying to stop it. The simple fact is that banning the advertisement isn't going to do anything to stop underage drinking, nor is trying to ban alcohol at festivals. People will simply start using drugs, i mean let's face it, pills and powder are far easier to hide than a bottle. There is already a lot of drug use at these festivals and by banning alcohol that number is simply going to sky rocket.
In my opinion their best bet is to bump up the fines for being drunk and disorderly/drunk and unable, or even slap a few days of prison on it. That will make them think twice about getting a little too out of it, and while they're at it, do the same for buying underagers alcohol. if they can't get it then they can't drink it.
I remember getting a fine for being drunk and unable once.. i got a £40 fine and nothing on my record, i payed the fine and it made no difference really. If the fine had been £150-200 it would have been a different story and if i had been made to spend a few days in prison i would definitely have thought twice before i had my next drink.
Theres a sign near my house that says the maximum fine for drinking in the street is £500 yet i've never met anyone who has had one anywhere near that, the most i've heard of is a mere £60 and there are A LOT of people who drink in the streets. The police rarely do anything to prevent it. They will take down a few peoples names then never bother persuing it. it's a joke.
Right, this is starting to really irritate me so i'm out.
Tuesday, 16 March 2010
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
